Ferrari reveals J50 Based On 488 Spider
March 13, 2017 – 9:25 pm | No Comment |

Earlier this week Ferrari revealed their limited edition J50 at the National Art Center in Tokyo, Japan. The Ferrari J50, which is based on the 488 Spider, is meant to celebrate the Prancing Horse’s 50th …

Read the full story »
Concept Cars

Amazing concept designs to look out for in the future

Crash Zone

Some of the biggest wrecks ever seen from around the world!

New Models

Watch this space for new models that are available now

Sports Cars

All the latest news about sports and super cars


Don’t miss these video and test reviews

Home » Motorsport, News

Facts and figures for Sunday’s Spanish F1 Grand Prix

Submitted by on May 7, 2009 – 11:56 pmNo Comment


Facts and figures for Sunday’s Spanish F1 Grand Prix at the Circuit de Catalunya:

  • Lap: 4.655 km
  • Race distance: 66 laps, 307.104 km
  • GMT start time: 1200
  • Race lap record: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:21.670 (2008)
  • 2008 pole position: Raikkonen, 1:21.813

Resume of recent races in Barcelona:

2008: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari

Raikkonen, on pole, extended his lead to nine points with Ferrari’s second successive one-two and third win in a row. This remains his last win to date. McLaren’s Heikki Kovalainen crashed heavily while leading after the frontrunners pitted.

2007: Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari

Massa’s second win in a row and fourth of his career. Hamilton went top as F1’s youngest championship leader, eclipsing McLaren team mate Fernando Alonso in front of the Spaniard’s home crowd. Alonso had collided with Massa at the first corner and finished third.

2006: Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault

Alonso started from pole position and became the first Spaniard to win his home grand prix, beating Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher by 18.5 seconds in front of 130,000 spectators.

2005: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren

Raikkonen ran away with the race, beating Alonso by 27 seconds. Briton Jenson Button’s BAR team were absent after being suspended for two races.

2004: Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari

Schumacher’s fifth win in five races, equalling Nigel Mansell’s 1992 record start to a season, in his 200th Grand Prix. Team mate Rubens Barrichello was runner-up.

The circuit:

The circuit, in the hills north of the city, is a demanding one for drivers and engineers but races have often been processional. The teams have tested there pre-season so the circuit holds no surprises, although wind can be a factor.

The circuit has hosted the Spanish GP since 1991. It was modified after the 2006 season, with a chicane replacing the final two quick bends for safety reasons and to help overtaking.


Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar blog.